Team INDIA T20 Skipper Rohit Sharma breaks Multiple Records!

Hitman Rohit Sharma who took over the T20 captaincy from Run Machine Virat Kohli after the sad exit from the T20 World Cup had scored brownie points by winning the home series against New Zealand by 3-0. In the last and final match of the series, India led by Rohit Sharma crushed the blackcaps with a margin of 73 runs.

Having won the toss for the third consecutive time, Rohit Sharma had decided to bat first and India got a flying start. Rohit Sharma scored another half-century and set up a world record in the T20s. He even surpassed Virat Kohli to set a new record. At the Kolkata Eden Gardens, Rohit Sharma broke the record held by Virat Kohli to have the most 50-plus scores in the short format.

When New Zealand spinner Mitchell Santner turned the match towards his team with a brilliant spell by claiming three wickets for 27 runs, Indian batsmen played quick cameos and put a score of 184 on the scoreboard in their quota. Players like Shreyas Iyer (25), Venkatesh Iyer (20), Harshal Patel (18), and Deepak Chahar (21*) played their part in this.

When Newzealand came to bat, Indian bowlers led by Axar Patel didn’t let the opponent batsmen play free shots. An excellent spell came from Axar Patel who scalped three wickets by conceding just nine runs. Martin Guptill who looked dangerous with a quick half-century was dismissed by Yuzvendra Chahal.

Thanks to the Indian bowling attack, New Zealand was restricted to 111 runs. They couldn’t even complete their full quota as the team was all-out in just 17.2 overs. The blackcaps were white-washed in the series.

In the third T20 against New Zealand, Rohit Sharma added one more feather in his cap by becoming the first Indian player to have hit 150 sixes in the short format. Overall, he is at the second spot only next to New Zealand’s Martin Guptill, who has 161 sixes to his name.

Rohit Sharma made a good record as a skipper too. He emerged as the Indian skipper to whitewash the opponents for the most times in the T20s with three series. Before New Zealand, India under Rohit Sharma whitewashed Sri Lanka and West Indies.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *